Governance and Administration

Caribbean School of Medical Sciences, Jamaica (CSMSJ) has its own Board of Governors, which is the highest decision-making body headed by the Chairman.  Both the Board and the Chairman are appointed for a period of no longer than four (4) years which can be renewed for two consecutive terms.  The Board of Governors is responsible for appointing the Executive Dean and Executive Vice Dean.

The board comprises twenty-one (21) members led by the chairman, members from the medical fraternity, public, academic institution, staff, student body and corporate members.  Ex officio members include the Executive Dean, Executive Vice Dean, Chief Financial Development and Business Officer and Registrar with no voting rights or proxy.

Caribbean School of Medical Sciences, Jamaica (CSMSJ) is a standalone chartered institution with its Academic arm in Medicine, Health Science and Natural Science school, Dentistry and Nursing.

Mr. Richard Jones

Chairman Board of Governors’ Message

It gives me enormous pleasure and great pride to witness the growth of the Caribbean School of Medical Sciences Jamaica over the past year.  The fruits of our hard work, sacrifice, teamwork and dedication to professionalism can be seen in the progress achieved.

We must continue to hold fast to our patient-centred approach to clinical care and multiply the innovations utilized in educating the next generation of medical professionals.  We are encouraged at the strides made in expanding


access to financing which will allow more students to afford medical training from the school.

Our modest student body led by the Guild of Students must be commended for their initiatives and creative efforts, which have impacted the institution positively over the period.  I congratulate those students who have studied hard and done well and encourage all to do their best and persevere as success is in your future.

I have every confidence that exciting times lie ahead as we seek to establish CSMSJ as the premier medical sciences training institution in the Caribbean Region.

Board of Governors

Prof. Earle  Taylor


Mr. Richard Jones


Professor Joseph Whittaker

Deputy Chairman

Mr. Travis Graham

Board Secretary

Dr. Lloyd Goldson

Gynaecologist, Medical Practitioner, Head of Clinical Rotations- Winchester Surgical Institute; Students and Staff Healthcare

Dr. Kevin Harvey

Medical Practitioner, International Relations, Consultant

Dr. Elsa  Cabrera

Professor Nominee, Principal Lecturer, Deputy of Publications Review, Member of Ethics Committee, Head of CSMSJ’s Clinical Rotation in Cuba

Professor Gossett Oliver

School nominee; Academic and Accreditation Committee

Dr. Milton Hardie

Chancellor’s Nominee, Member of Academic

Dr. Lucien Tomlinson

Medical Practitioner, Members of the Finance Committee, Members of the Accommodation Committee, Student and Staff Healthcare.

Dr. Sacha Campbell

Staff Representative

Dr. Sonia  Copeland

 Min. of Health and Wellness Representative

Mrs. Winnie Berry

Min. of Education, Youth and Information Representative

Mr. Carlton Samuels

Information Technology, Infrastructure

Dr. Dominique Scott

President of the Student Alumni Association

Mr. Austin Briscoe

Student Guild President; AY 2023-2025

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Neville Ballin

Executive Dean

Dr. Alverston Bailey

Executive Vice Dean

Miss Daniella Hyde


Dr. Neville Graham

Chief Financial and Development Officer